Inching towards mediocrity.


Solar powered laptops? (Count me in!)

Well, I think this easily falls into the realm of “things I thought already existed because they seemed so ridiculously obvious to me, that why the hell wouldn’t they already exist?”

USA Solar and Digital Communications Technologies LLC has created, apparently, the world’s first solar charger for laptops. That’s right – you can now plug this bad boy into your computer, and simply keep it charged and ready by sitting outside under the sun.

Beats the shit out of the iPad.

I personally don’t own a laptop, so this doesn’t really concern me – yet. (I’m sure I’ll pick one up soon so I can write this blog from a Starbucks like every good blogger should). However, I still think it’s a pretty cool invention – and, as I mentioned before, one I can’t believe hasn’t been created yet.

Now, while the green issues behind this invention are definitely many and mighty, it’s the simple pleasures involved with having a solar-powered computer that have me intrigued. I love being outdoors, and while I’m not keen on sullying that experience with Mybook or Facespace or comparing different colored penises on Chatroulette, I do enjoy writing and creating art and music from time to time – and what better place to do this than the great outdoors, where the air is thick with the sweet honey of inspiration?

Mmmm...non-narcotics related inspiration...

Ah, but it doesn’t stop there! The device also works with your mobile phone, PDA, DC, digital camera, digital learning machine, MP3, MP4 and PSP game, mobile DVD players. While I’m not really on board for the whole “taking your cellphone, handheld gaming system and mobile DVD player camping” sorta thing, it would be nice to have some music and a digital camera with you – all without the fear of running out of power during Slash’s “November Rain” solo. Pretty tight, that.

Now you can take him anywhere!....if that's your "thing."

Muzatch,  the brand behind the device says that they have a built-in lithium-ion battery, with a capacity of 12,000 mAh and an output voltage ranging from 5V to 22V. I don’t know what any of that means, but look! Numbers and units of measurement! SOUNDS impressive, right?

Anyways, this thing retails for about $150. Seems like a lot, but you’ll be saving money on your energy bill (I can’t imagine it costs too much to charge a laptop, but whatever) and the convenience and freedom of such a device can’t really be priced anyways.

For more information, head on over to the site at: http://www.muzatch.com/ to find out more.

When (if) I get a laptop, I’m definitely going to consider one of these babies. Green, innovative, and worth it just so I can play “Farmville” on an actual FARM.

It’s less lame that way. Trust me.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] lucianogalasso: Solar powered laptops? (Count me in!) […]

Pingback by Greenlinks 15/04/2010 | Umwelt, Einführung, Pkw-Maut, Earth, Umweltbundesamt, Shaking | Neidgruen.de

Solar power is the conversion of sunlight into electricity, either directly using photovoltaics (PV), or indirectly using concentrated solar power (CSP). Concentrated solar power systems use lenses or mirrors and tracking systems to focus a large area of sunlight into a small beam. Photovoltaics converts light into electric current using the photoelectric effect.

Comment by low energy pc




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

